Knowing when to hire a Montana car accident lawyer isn’t always clear—there are several laws that can affect the outcome of your car accident, and cases can range from cut-and-dry to extremely complicated based on a few tiny details.
To help clear up the legalese surrounding car accidents in Montana, let’s take a look at some of the most important laws that could affect your case—and when it’s time to hire professional help as you seek compensation.
Montana Car Accident Laws
When you choose to file a lawsuit against an at-fault driver after a Montana car accident, there are several state laws you need to be aware of—starting with the statute of limitations.
The statute of limitations is basically a time limit you have to get your lawsuit started in a civil court, and Montana’s time limit gives the injured person up to three years after the date of their accident or occurrence of their injury begin their lawsuit—a step that typically involves filing your initial complaint and summons in civil court.
That three-year deadline is the same whether you file a lawsuit for vehicle damage or personal injury.
If your complaint isn’t filed before that three-year window has closed, the court will deny hearing your case outright. That’s why it’s vital to pay close attention to how much time you have left and leave yourself some room to maneuver—even if you’re 99% sure your case will settle and won’t go to court.
Montana Car Insurance Rules and Requirements
Montana drivers are required to show evidence of financial responsibility in order to both register and drive a motor vehicle, which most owners do by purchasing car insurance.
Montana’s minimum coverage breaks down as follows:
- $25,000 per person for car accident injuries
- $50,000 per accident when more than one person is hurt
- $10,000 per accident to cover property damage
In addition, Montana car insurance companies are required to offer uninsured motorist coverage, which gives you a safety net in crashes involving at-fault drivers without insurance. Although you’re free to decline uninsured driver coverage (in writing), it’s a big gamble.
When Is It Time to Hire a Car Accident Attorney in Montana?
It’s not necessary to hire a Montana car accident attorney for every single claim—for example, in situations where the other driver’s insurance company isn’t disputing who was at fault in the crash, you’re dealing with very minor injuries, and the settlement seems fair.
However, very few cases are this simple.
What if the other motorist’s insurance carrier is saying that you caused the crash? What if you suffered serious injuries and the insurance company is refusing to pay? What if the other side is offering a paltry settlement that barely covers your medical costs?
After car accidents, things can get complicated very quickly. That’s when hiring an experienced attorney can really pay off.
At Glacier Law, we know the ins and outs of the legal system and how to build winning cases when the other side just isn’t willing to play fair. Give us a call or fill out the quick form below right away, and let’s meet for a free case evaluation to figure out how to win the compensation for your car accident that you deserve.